top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDina Aisyah

Little teacher and bright minds on Chow Kit Road

Updated: Feb 13, 2022

Chow Kit Road. A strip of the suburb in the midst of the concrete jungle of Kuala Lumpur. Once famed and exclaimed by the Malaysian Pop legend, Sudirman, is now a considerable symbolism of urban poverty in Malaysia. Located within Kuala Lumpur, Chow Kit Road is a busy district flourishing with economic activities alongside being the home to the largest wet market in Kuala Lumpur and more than 500 ‘street children’ roaming and living off the streets.


If nothing worked out in my intended science career, I had always thought teaching was a profession I could dive into. Coming from a T20 household, I was privileged enough to have a roof to shelter under and a formal education institution to attend on a daily basis. Born and raised in Kuala Lumpur, I am no stranger to the unfortunate fate of some of its residents whom sleeps on cardboard beds on the streets, unkempt with unsecured meals through the day. At night, the juxtaposition of the homelessness that lays as a foreground to the mighty concrete buildings and dazzling city lights paints the scenario of lifestyle gap in the city.


The first time I've stepped onto Chow Kit Road was with a friend at 15, to participate in a Ramadhan Iftar session with some of the residents around the area. The experience was indeed an eye-opener. I was not an exception to the stigma or stereotype that surrounds the area. We were often told about how dangerous the area is. However, after being surrounded by nothing but grateful smiles and gratitude I could say the truth is quite the opposite. An eye-opener indeed.


As soon as I went back home, I remember scrolling through myriads of platforms for opportunities to volunteer for at Chow Kit Road. The iftaar programme wasn't just solely for food distribution, there was also a corner set up with school books, crayons, pens, and children's sized-tables that were placed on mats adorned with alphabets and cartoon characters. I could vividly remember their bright smiles and hearty laughters. I learned from the event organiser that a soup kitchen is done regularly. Not only that, I understood free classes were conducted at the centre too for mothers and children to learn the Quran and basic alphabets respectively. As the youngest volunteers at the centre, my friend and I were tasked to play with the children and engage with them with some activities alongside packing the food surpluses for the families to take home


Their eagerness to play and talk; and their childhood innocence itself was enough to inspire my desire to return to Chow Kit for a cause besides food - education. I realised the greatest gift to give these children wasn't just education, but also hope and empowerment to learn which they seemingly lack. I wanted to teach the children of Chow Kit.



2 years later, I was landed with the opportunity from one of the organisers of the Ramadhan Iftaar for a volunteering programme at the Jalan Chow Kit Community Learning Centre to teach basic Quran and Arabic alphabets. As I peered into the room full of children, mothers and volunteers I remember how hopeful I felt about the experience. Initially, I underestimated the challenge of teaching basic Arabic letters to small children. "What's so hard about it?", I figured. However, sitting infront of a 6 year old whose eyes were everywhere else except the book infront of him, only parroting what I utter, prompted its challenge. The first time around teaching experience indeed. I've learned that being a teacher is a tough row to hoe. Who said it was easy? Teachers are indefinitely underpaid. Maybe I should've started an activism campaign to raise educators' salaries too.


Nevertheless, I was grateful that it wasn't my last experience there. I was fortunate to return, with the support of my parents who were kind enough to drive me to the centre, to recurrently volunteer at the centre on weekends and Fridays.


As their 'teacher' I did feel a little disappointment when they couldn't really catch up on the lesson. However, I had to remind myself that the lessons which were conducted only twice a week on Friday and Sunday evenings, would definitely not suffice. However, the least I could do is to offer hope for the community despite their predicament – that it is possible to move forward. These two-day classes could not change their academic performances. In reality, most of the children and even parents are not be able to catch up with the local school syllabus. Some are not able to read.


After volunteering for a few times at the centre, I finally understood that real objective of the classes were to instil a sense of confidence for the children to be themselves and not to be ashamed of their circumstances. There's an evident hope for them to grow up to be independent and contribute to their society.



The experience had opened up the reality of homelessness and poverty and the educational and social impact at its disposal. By estimation, there are 1,500 to 2,000 homeless persons in Kuala Lumpur in 2016. The latest data on the homeless population in Malaysia is unavailable. However, it can be assured that the numbers have increased following the pandemic. “Kuala Lumpur is experiencing a new wave of homelessness as more employers are forced to let go of their employees due to the Covid-19 pandemic,” Kuala Lumpur and Selangor Association for the Homeless and Needy chairman Rashid Rashdan said.


A much sustainable solution is needed to overcome homelessness in the city and around the country. A proper and inclusive plan involving government agencies, NGOs, the private sector and experts brainstorming ways to end the homeless problem in the city is crucial. Government bodies such as DBKL, for example, could aid in homeless transformation by giving them training and land to become for instance, farmers. Through empowering the homeless with skills and knowledge as well as providing them the opportunity to apply it is a way forward.


“DBKL has land everywhere. The land can be cultivated by the homeless to grow vegetables which can then be sold to the community." Rashan said to TheStar.


This is indeed a topic to be discussed. However, looking back, I am grateful to have been able to slightly contribute to empowering a small number of the children of Chow Kit. Alongside to inspire other privileged youths to take a step out of their comfort zone to contribute their time to the community. Following the pandemic, I had not be able to further my contribution among the blue painted walls of Chow Kit Road Community Learning Centre.


Real sustainability of volunteerism doesn't end at the complimentary lessons taught or food distributed. It lays in the empowerment instilled, awareness developed and the individuals inspired to continue to give back to the society.


One of the greatest things you can do to help others is not just to share and give what you have, but to help them discover what they have within themselves to help themselves.” - Rita Zahara.




241 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page