top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureDina Aisyah

Undervalued Dinner Plates and the Luxurious Take-Away Containers

As I peered to the corner of the brightly lit streets to where the food distribution took place, like a human domino, there was a long queue just outside the criss crossed gates separating the volunteers from the crowd. Children, males and mothers carrying their babies were perched on the street curbs. At the sight, my heart nearly skipped a beat.

A fuss erupted as soon as the gates were opened. I observed hopefulness as they asked for extra food to take home and enthusiasm from children at the sight of coloured pencils, toys, books and brightly coloured alphabets adorned carpets to indulge in.


However, this was only the beginning of my experience at the soup kitchen. Volunteering had always been one of my passions. After discovering upon the NeedToFeedTheNeed on Instagram, I had made it my sole mission to secure a slot as one of their volunteers to distribute food to the needy in the Chow Kit area. After successfully securing 3 slots for myself and my friends, we started our series of volunteering activities with the NGO. Although the activity leaves me exhausted, I am always able leave with a sense of fulfilment and a new found gratitude for what I have.


Each time I return to volunteer at the food distribution centre brings a new found awareness of the minor relief I can make for the community and the children of Chow Kit. There's a familiar routine that goes around. Volunteers were required to arrive early and set up the centre for distribution. Boxes were moved, tables were set, foods were packed and tasks were delegated among the volunteers.


As one of the youngest volunteers, I was tasked to engage with the children. At first it seemed like a mundane task. However, as I observed their unusual eagerness at the sight of toys, coloured pencils and drawing blocks I had come to realise that these basic stationeries and toys I was privileged enough have growing up was a luxury indulgence for them. The children had funnily requested me to draw their favourite cartoon characters or even my illustration of themselves. Although I was not a talented artist, each sketch I produced earned me a grateful smile and joyous laughter. From then, I was able to learn about their stories and how they feel about school. Some expressed enthusiasm while others indicated a lack of hope and empowerment in regards to their academic performance. Meanwhile some may not even be fortunate to attend school at all. It's the harsh reality I had come to actually observe.


Later, I was then asked to join the other volunteers to distribute the food. Lined up, the crowd each took turn to collect their fair share of food. Some had even requested to get extra meals for their family at home or to be saved for the day to come. However, most of them were denied of the request as the organisers had to make sure everyone could get one. It was indeed heartbreaking to witness. Chow Kit Road, a foreground to the city line of Kuala Lumpur and the lifestyle that mostly resulted to food wastage, was a home to many with unsecured daily meals.



I'll forever cherish the experiences I've gained. Every time I would return, I find myself with a new found spark of inspiration and hope for the future. Without knowing it, the people of Chow Kit had taught me a great deal about gratitude and inspired my desire to dive into a career that allows me give back to the community. Despite the heartbreaking scene I encounter, I return would return home with sadness overshadowed by the silent joy I feel upon each "Terima Kasih" and smiles.


I thoroughly enjoy my time spent volunteering at the food distribution centre as I acknowledge that each smile, minute, and ounce of compassion I put forth is appreciated and impactful.


Poverty is evident. Based on a study, the number of poor households increased to 639.8 thousand households in 2020 as compared to 405.4 thousand households in 2019 showing a great impact made by the pandemic. The incidence of absolute poverty also increased from 5.6 per cent (2019) to 8.4 per cent. Malaysians are blessed with absolute empathy that was obviously exhibited during the recent flood disaster. The society, from different states had convoyed to the affected areas to help with clean up and providing essential supplies. However, much better leadership is yet to be seen from the government. Hence, in the case of increased poverty following the pandemic, we are hopeful to see good leadership emerging from crisis.


As members of the society it is crucial to play a part to help improve social welfare in any way we can.

83 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page